Resources for Small Business Owners

In addition to regularly scheduled workshops for new and experienced business owners, the AFIC (Arlington Funding Information Center) provides print and electronic resources for entrepreneurs. Find books on writing business plans, starting your own business, marketing your business, and much more.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.

Business Source Complete
Full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

Enhanced Business Search
Includes company and industry profiles, market research reports, and business videos.

Foundation Center Cooperating Collection (East Branch Library Only)
The premier resource for locating in-depth information about grantsmakers and their grants.

Legal Collection
The discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, and federal law.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Get comprehensive financial information on stocks, mutual funds, exchange traded funds, and use portfolio tools and calculators to determine what your asset mix should be.

ReferenceUSA
Real-time access to more than 20 Million Businesses, 222 Million Consumers, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. New Homeowners & Movers.

Regional Business News
Full text for more than 50 regional business publications.

Small Business Reference Center *NEW*
Contains more than 450 full-text reference books and nearly 400 full-text periodicals that provide detailed “how-to” instructions to address small business topics.

Small Business Help

Databases… MORE link http://morelibrary.org/collection/business-investment

Starting your Business

Basics

Texas Wide Open for Business https://texaswideopenforbusiness.com/start-business

North Texas Small Business Development Center http://www.ntsbdc.org/

Small Business Learning Center https://www.sba.gov/tools/sba-learning-center/search/training

Texas Secretary of State, Business Basics http://www.sos.state.tx.us/corp/index.shtml

Small Business Reference Center http://morelibrary.org/resource/small-business-reference-center

Business Plans

SCORE Fort Worth – Start Up – Business Plans https://www.score.org/content/search/all/657%2C639/all/73/10688

Business Plans and Profiles Index http://www.carnegielibrary.org/research/business/bplansindex.html

Licensing

Texas Business Licenses, Permits and Registration http://www.sba.com/texas/licenses-permits/

News & Research

Business News

Regional Business News http://morelibrary.org/resource/regional-business-news

Fort Worth Business http://www.fortworthbusiness.com/

Dallas Business Journal http://www.bizjournals.com/dallas/news/

Market research

ReferenceUSA http://morelibrary.org/resource/referenceusa

Your Economy http://www.youreconomy.org/

Census Bureau Economic Statistics http://www.census.gov/econ/

Company Research

Industry.Net http://www.industrynet.com/

ThomasNet http://www.thomasnet.com/

Enhanced Business Search http://morelibrary.org/resource/enhanced-business-search

Business Source Complete http://morelibrary.org/resource/business-source-complete

Growing your business

Marketing

Marketing your small business

https://www.sba.gov/category/navigation-structure/starting-managing-business/managing-business/running-business/marketing

U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library  http://www.buyusainfo.net/adsearch.cfm?search_type=int&loadnav=no

Contracting

Tips on Doing Business with the State of Texas http://tpwd.texas.gov/business/bidops/hub/tips/index.phtml

Supplier Portal: Doing business with the City of Arlington

http://www.arlington-tx.gov/news/2012/02/28/supplier-portal-doing-business-with-the-city/

Finance

SBA Loan Programs https://www.sba.gov/loanprograms

Small Business Calculators

http://www.bankrate.com/calculators/index-of-small-business-calculators.aspx

Legal & Tax

NOLO: Running your small business

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/business-llcs-corporations

Arlington, Texas Code of Ordinances

http://www.arlington-tx.gov/citysecretary/code-ordinances/

Tax Information for businesses http://www.irs.gov/Businesses