Staff Picks: Databases
Resource Spotlight: ReferenceUSA
On Tuesday, March 6, a representative from ReferenceUSA will come to our library and will provide you tools to use this invaluable resource. ReferenceUSA has eight databases that can help you:
- locate sources of funding
- find new business opportunities.
- research executives & companies worldwide.
- track down addresses and phone numbers.
- find new articles for research.
- locate out-of-town companies.
- profile a neighborhood, city or state.
- search for jobs, by location and industry
U.S. Businesses
Use this module to search for comprehensive, accurate and up to date information on more than 13.5 million U.S. Businesses. Data is telephone verified and updated monthly. Use the more than 3 dozen search selections to create custom queries. Results link to individual profiles for each business containing essential information.
U.S. Standard White Pages
With more than 89 million U.S.listings, this module gives you access to people all over the United States. Records are continuously updated against the USPS National Change of Address and Delivery Sequence File (DSF) to be the most current source for residential listings available. Records include maps and key demographic data.
U.S. Consumers / Lifestyle
Searchers use the Consumer / Lifestyle data to understand the buying habits of groups of consumers. Drawn from a variety of sources the results are a blend of purchase preference information with household and census type data.
U.S. New Businesses
Updated on a weekly basis with information from a variety of sources, the U.S. New Business module is the ideal resource for anyone wanting to connect with businesses in their start up and early phases of development.
U.S. HealthCare
Profiling more than 1 million physicians and dentists, the U.S. HealthCare database gives researchers a unique look at a doctor’s practice. Essential information includes the doctor’s specialty, age, medical school attended, year of graduation and hospital affiliation.
U.S. New Movers /Homeowners
Each year 15% of the country’s population moves to a new location. Each week ReferenceUSA adds more than 300,000 New Movers/ Homeowners to this module. Search using key data elements including Residential Details, Mortgage Details, Confirmed Homeowner status and Move Distance.
Canadian Business
The Canadian Business data module is one the most robust information sources of Canadian business information available. Researches create custom searches using criteria from a list of search options and results link to profiles of more than 1.5 million businesses.
Canadian White Pages
Records are 100% publicly sourced to comply with Canadian privacy laws and contain information on more than 12 million Canadian households.
Help us make our website better!
My guiding principle is to build the Arlington Public Library's digital experiences with you and not just for you (whether our website, blogs, Facebook page, Twitter feed, live chat reference service, databases, eBooks, or downloadable media). Please join with us as we explore how to use these exciting new technologies to not just point to the library, but to actually be the library online.
One very practical way you can do that is to volunteer to answer some basic questions & complete some sample website tasks in our test lab to see what we can improve on. It will take only about an hour of your time and we will try to schedule around your availability.
Want to help? Please contact:
Mark Dellenbaugh, Library Services Manager for the Digital Experience
817-459-6795 or mark.dellenbaugh@arlingtontx.gov
|
Topics:
Databases
|
Consumer Reports

Arlington Public Library subscribes to the print version of Consumer Reports. It is located at the reference desk at most of our libraries and can be used for inhouse use. We often get asked if we subscribe to the online edition through the Consumer Reports website. No, but we have something better--we provide access to Consumer Reports through our Databases.
Under Popular choose EBSCOhost. Make sure MasterFILE Premier is checked, and hit continue.
Under "Limit your results," there is a "Publication" field. Type "Consumer Reports" in that Box. There is an option to limit by publication date, if you happen to know exactly what issue you need (for example, Consumer Reports generally feature cars every April). Or, you can simply type your desired search term (say, vacuum cleaners).

- Staff Picks
- Arlington
- Art
- Audiobooks
- Biography
- Book Groups
- Books
- Business & Finance
- Databases
- eBooks & eAudiobooks
- Fiction
- Genealogy
- Government
- History
- Humor
- Kids
- Literacy
- Movies
- Music
- Mystery & Crime
- Nonfiction
- Poetry
- Religion & Spirituality
- Resource Spotlight
- Science & Nature
- Science Fiction & Fantasy
- Sports
- Summer Reading Club
- Teens
- Travel










