youth, unity, art, poetry
Friday, August 27, 2021 Estefany Mendoza Salazar

The winners of the Unity: Art and Poetry Contest have been selected. Earlier this year participants were asked to create an art or poetry piece that reflects what unity in Arlington looks like to them. Our city is diverse and vibrant and our citizens represent a variety of rich cultures and valued experiences, we wanted to showcase these expressions of community.

This contest was generously sponsored by the Otis & Rosie Brown Foundation whose mission is to highlight extraordinary people, organizations, and corporations who utilize ordinary resources to enhance the well-being of individuals, families, and communities.

The contest was open to school-age children, teens, and adults. Prizes were awarded in each category for first, second, and third place. Winning entries will be displayed in the George W. Hawkes Downtown Library lobby throughout September.

The foundation also donated $3,000 to the Library to fund a new Unity Collection, which consists of over 240 books for children, teens, and adults and highlights the black experience in America.

Our community has experienced a lot of change in the last several years that has resulted in thought-provoking questions about what unity and community mean - these books are for those of us who are not only questioning what is next for the community but also celebrating what that might mean.

We encourage you to visit the George W. Hawkes Downtown Library, located at 100 S. Center St., to view the art, read the poetry and check out a few books from the new collection.

Contest Winners

Kindergarten –  Grade 2

1st prize:   Mariyah Ahmed

2nd prize: Aaleyah Onimago-Ishiaka

3rd prize:   Ivie Osazee

Grades 3-5

1st prize:   Harper Sewell

2nd prize: Abigail Son

3rd prize:   Talayeh Mathis

Grades 6-8

1st prize:   Ava Darr

2nd prize: Lana Kamel

3rd prize:   Tracy Pham

Grades 9-12

1st prize:   Xena Duly

2nd prize: Trisha Dang

3rd prize:   Maila Walker


1st prize:   Linden Patterson

2nd prize: Brittany Stubblefield-Engram

3rd prize: Amy Hester