History of the Friends and Foundation

Originally, there were two nonprofit support organizations – the Friends of the Arlington Public Library (established in 1986) and the Arlington Public Library Foundation (established in 1993).  The Friends held semi-annual book sales and Book & Author Luncheons and the Foundation raised funds primarily through grants, events, and direct mail solicitations.  Because of their similar goals to support the Library System, the two groups merged October 2016 to form the Friends & Foundation.


  1. Bring together people who share an interest in libraries
  2. Promote public awareness and community support for the Library system
  3. Encourage gifts and fundraising activities that benefit the Arlington Public Library System

Upcoming Events

Visit our Fundraising Events page for more details on upcoming FFAPL events.

Planned and Corporate Gifts

Planned Giving to APLF: Did you grow up with the Library? Do you use your local branch? If so, help ensure APL remains a vital civic asset for future generations.

Corporate Sponsorships: Support programs that serve some of Arlington’s most vulnerable groups.

Employee Matches: Match employees’ gifts.

Email Andi Davis for more information on how your business can help.

Additional Contact Information

MS 10-0100 Library Administration
PO Box 90231
Arlington, TX 76004-3231

Warehouse: 817-548-9768


Become a Member

Show your support of the Arlington Public Library by joining the Friends and Foundation. Memberships start at just $20. Benefits include: 

  • The Bookcase Newsletter
  • Discounts and special Members Only admission to the Spring and Fall Book Sale
  • Volunteer Opportunities
  • Book & Author Spring and Fall Luncheons 
  • Board & Committee Positions
  • Invitations to the Annual Meeting and Dinner

Click here to become a member

Printable Form

PDF iconMembership Registration 10.2018.pdf




Gifts large and small, restricted and unrestricted are graciously accepted. Donations to the Foundation are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law and gifts provide tax benefits to donors while offering exciting growth opportunities for the Arlington Public Library System. Click to learn about your options for monetary donations: General Donation | Collection Materials | eBooks | Summer Reading Club | North Texas Giving Day


Friends and Foundation Board Members

Friends and Foundation of the Arlington Public Library's Fiscal operating year is October to September and the full board meets quarterly, on the 4th Wednesdays of October, January, April, and July at 5:30 p.m.  Members of the Board serve three-year terms. A director who has served for two full consecutive three-year terms may not be reappointed until one year has elapsed after the end of his or her second consecutive three-year term.  New or successor directors are elected by the Board of Directors at the first meeting of the fiscal year. 

Friends and Foundation of the Arlington Public Library's officers include a Chair, Vice Chair, Immediate Past Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer.  They are elected by the Board of Directors at the Board of Directors’ first meeting of the fiscal year.  The Vice-Chair automatically ascends to the office of Chair if the position is vacant.  Officers may serve up to four consecutive one-year terms in the same office.  When the Chair has completed his or her term in that office, he or she will serve one term as Immediate Past Chair.

Current Board Members

  • Robyn Barrere  
  • Mike Becknal    
  • Terry Bertrand 
  • Ruthie Brock      
  • Joe Bruner, Fundraising Chair
  • Kathy Delaney, Treasurer and Finance Chair
  • Cathy Dietz        
  • Cindy Goodyear
  • Leigh Graviss     
  • Claudia Gray      
  • Nancy Hadaway, Events Chair
  • Candy Halliburton, Library Advisory Board Liaison
  • Wayne Halliburton, Book Sale Chair
  • Nancy Hester, Membership Chair
  • John Hibbs         
  • Carole Hoyer, Chair
  • Nikkie Hunter   
  • Bob Johnson     
  • Prem Kohli         
  • Bill Lace, Secretary
  • Lorraine Levine
  • Jo McGovern    
  • Ben Parsons      
  • Dorothy Rencurrel, Immediate Past Chair
  • Demi Stewart, Public Awareness Chair
  • Polly Walton, Vice Chair